Skip to Main Content
Navigated to Tuition and Fees.

Tuition and Fees

Residency for Tuition

The state of North Carolina partially subsidizes the cost of North Carolina public college and university tuition for all students whose domicile, or permanent legal residence, is in North Carolina. Residency determination establishes if students should have in-state or out-of-state tuition. Because North Carolina residency status is governed solely by North Carolina statute, lack of eligibility for in-state status in another state does not guarantee in-state status in North Carolina. The residency statute mandates only those who can demonstrate a minimum of twelve months of uninterrupted domicile (legal residence) in North Carolina are eligible for in-state tuition. The statute also places the burden of proof on the student to establish, by a preponderance of evidence, that they are a bona fide domiciliary rather than mere residents of North Carolina. See Residency Determination Service.

Tuition and fees paid by students do not represent the total operating expenses of the College. The balance is provided by local, state, and federal tax funds.

Tuition for Curriculum Students

Tuition rates for Blue Ridge Community College are established by the North Carolina General Assembly.

 These rates are subject to change.

Resident of N.C.

$76 per semester hour

16 or more semester hours $1,216


$268 per semester hour

16 or more semester hours $4,288

Fees and Other Expenses for Curriculum Students

Student Activity Fee    $35

The student activity fee is applicable to all curriculum students and is non-refundable after the 100% refund period. This fee will be charged for Fall and Spring semesters only. Some exceptions apply.

Accident Insurance Fee $1.30

Students are required to take limited coverage accident insurance while enrolled. The amount varies each year. The accident insurance fee is waived for students taking only distance education classes which do not require attendance on campus. This insurance fee is not refundable after the 100% refund period. Due to the changing nature of the insurance industry, types of policies and rates are subject to change without notice. Blue Ridge Community College is not liable for injury suffered by students while participating in classes, shop work, or other school activities.

Transcript Fee (official copy)

The fee for an official transcript is $5.
An unofficial transcript can be obtained through myBlueRidge at no fee.

Technology Fee

The Technology Fee is non-refundable after the 100% refund period. The fee is charged each semester:

  • 16 or more semester hours $48

  • 1 - 15 semester hours $3/per semester hour

Professional Liability Fee

This coverage is for students taking part in personal service or medical-related situations such as clinical experiences and varies depending on the program.

  • Associate Degree Nursing = $15

  • Surgical Technology = $15

  • Emergency Medical Science = $74

  • Cosmetology = $10/per course

Pre-Enrollment Placement Test Retest Fee

The fee for the Pre-Enrollment Placement Test Retest is $5 per unit.

Graduation Fee

The Graduation Fee for curriculum students is $20 and covers graduation expenses for degrees, diplomas, and certificates. It is payable during registration for the semester in which the student expects to complete a program of study. Invitations, caps, and gowns may be purchased at the student’s expense in the College Bookstore prior to graduation. 

A $10 graduation fee is charged to basic law enforcement students.

A $15 graduation fee is charged to paramedic students.

College Access, Parking and Security (CAPS) Fee 

  • Fall Semester = $25

  • Spring Semester = $25

  • Summer Term = $15

The CAPS fee is applicable to curriculum students however, some exceptions apply. It is non-refundable after the 100% refund period. 

Course Fees

Other course fees may apply. A detailed schedule of course fees is available on the College website. 

Online Learning

There are no fees solely associated with online learning courses or with verification of student identity.

Online sections may require online proctored exams that require a photo ID; i.e. work ID, student ID, driver's license, state ID, etc. with an in-person proctored exam available upon student request

Textbooks, Supplies, and Tools Varies

Costs for textbooks, supplies, and tools are variable depending on the student’s enrollment status and program. Students are required to have the textbooks, supplies, and tools prescribed in the curriculum program they are entering. New and used textbooks and school supplies are available in the College Bookstore located in the Killian Building on the Henderson County Campus and the Student Center at the Transylvania County Campus. Books may be purchased online at Pursuant to the Higher Education Opportunity Act, Blue Ridge Community College is required to share required textbook information (ISBN number and retail price) with students at the time they register for classes. This information can be found on the Blue Ridge Community College Bookstore website at

Payment of Tuition and Fees

Tuition and fees must be paid in full or deferred through the College tuition payment plan by the published tuition payment deadline or the student’s schedule will be deleted. Qualified high school students who are enrolled at least half-time in high school courses are exempt from tuition for select courses. However, all students are required to pay the student accident insurance fee, technology fee, the activity fee, the CAPS fee, and any specific course fees that may apply. If high school students are enrolled in Blue Ridge Community College courses offered on a high school campus, the student accident insurance fee, the activity fee, and the technology fee may be waived. The student accident insurance fee may also be waived for the distance learning student who does not attend the Blue Ridge Community College campus. However, it is the responsibility of the student to notify the business office of the high school or distance learning status at the time charges are paid.

Deferred Payment Plan

The College offers a deferred payment plan for curriculum students in the Fall and Spring Semesters. The amount of tuition and fees that can be deferred is determined by the amount due and deferred payment plan enrollment date. Enrollment and service fees may apply. The Deferred Payment Plan is not available for the summer term. Information is available from the Cashier/Student Accounts Office or faculty advisors.

Fulfillment of Financial Obligations

Students are responsible for any and all amounts due on their account. Continuing Education students must pay all required course fees or provide an authorization letter for sponsor payment at the time of registration for the course. Curriculum students must pay all tuition and fees in full, officially enrolled in the Deferred Payment Plan (Fall and Spring semesters only), have pending financial aid showing on their account, or provide an authorization letter for sponsor payment by the payment deadlines published for each semester. Curriculum students are considered to have a past due balance if a balance is still due on their account after the published payment deadline or on the last day of the academic semester for which the charges are incurred. This balance could have resulted from failure to adhere to the conditions of the Deferred Payment Plan, financial aid was reduced or revoked, or a sponsor declined payment for any reason.

Failure to pay any past due balance in full may result in:

  • Inability to register for any classes

  • Inability to receive grades or official transcripts

  • The account may be turned over to the North Carolina Department of Revenue for collection

  • The account may be turned over to a collection agency where credit could be adversely affected

Attempts are made during the semester for collection through billing statements that are to be mailed for all outstanding accounts. Past due accounts will have a second notice mailed at the end of the semester. If no collection is made within 30 days of the second notice, a third and final personal letter will be sent. The letter will detail the date, purpose and amount of the debt as well as advise the student of the State policy regarding grades, transcripts, and registration for future classes.

If the above procedure fails within 30 days the following collection options are available to the College based on the amount past due:

Any account over sixty (60) days past due may be turned over to the NC Department of Revenue, Set-Off Debt Unit, to collect from applicable NC State Tax Refund until the account is paid in full. This is in accordance with G.S. Chapter 105A of the North Carolina General Statutes, Set-Off Debt Collection Act.

Any account over sixty (60) days past due may be turned over to a collection agency where a student’s credit may be adversely affected. Once the account has been submitted to a Collection Agency, payment must be remitted to them directly.

Payment plans and/or other payment arrangements are not available to past due accounts.

Fees for Career and College Promise Students

Tuition is waived for high school students taking courses under an approved Career and College Promise Pathway. However, high school students are responsible for fees, course supplies, textbooks, and their own transportation to and from the Blue Ridge Community College Henderson County Campus and the Transylvania County Campus.

Fees for Continuing Education Students

To comply with North Carolina law, nominal registration fees are charged for continuing education courses. The fee for each course is indicated in the schedule of courses and usually ranges from $65 to $175. There is no charge for volunteer rescue and lifesaving personnel or local law enforcement officers for their special extension training programs. Students are responsible for buying supplies and materials as necessary. Basic Skills programs are provided at no charge to the participants.

The registration fee for continuing education computer classes includes a $5 computer use and technology fee. This is required and is non-refundable after the 100% refund period.

A $10 graduation fee is charged to basic law enforcement students. A $15 graduation fee is charged to paramedic students.

In some cases, allied health and emergency medical courses may carry additional costs such as professional liability fees and course lab fees. A complete list of fees is available from the program director/coordinator upon request.

Tax Information

There may be tax credits or deductions claimed by the student and/or parent in the form of education credits, tuition, and fees deduction, and student loan interest deduction. In addition, some awarded grants and scholarships may be subject to taxation as taxable income. Students should consult their tax advisor or visit the IRS website for detailed tax information.

Collection of Social Security Numbers

Blue Ridge Community College is required to collect a Social Security Number (SSN) or Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) from all degree-seeking students in accordance with Internal Revenue Service (IRS) regulation §1.6050S-1(e). The IRS also requires the College to notify all degree-seeking students that if they choose not to disclose their SSN or TIN, they may personally be subject to a $100 penalty imposed by the Internal Revenue Service.

All degree-seeking students will be asked to supply their SSN or TIN accurately on the Admissions application. When completing the admissions application, students should use the legal name as it appears on their Social Security Card or Taxpayer Identification.

A student’s social security number will be used on Tax Form 1098-T to correctly report tuition and fee payments to the Internal Revenue Service each year. If the SSN or TIN submitted on an admissions application is incorrect, students may complete IRS Form W-9S and submit to the Registrar’s Office. Additional information concerning IRS Form 1098-T is available on the College’s website.

Tuition Refund Policy—Curriculum Students

1 E SBCCC 900.1 in the State Board of Community Colleges Code states that a 100% refund of tuition shall be made if the student officially withdraws prior to the first day of classes of the semester as noted in the college calendar. A student may drop a class for a partial (75%) refund of the tuition only amount on or after the first day of classes and on or before the official 10% date of the semester.

During the schedule adjustment period, which is the first three class days of the semester, students should see their adviser and sign a drop/add card to receive a refund. After the schedule adjustment period, students who drop one or more of their courses on or before the official 10% date of the term must log into myBlueRidge to drop the course(s). In the case of drops prior to the official 10% date of the semester, the course(s) will not be included on the transcript.

Students officially withdrawing from a course after the official 10% date of the semester must see the instructor of the course or the appropriate Dean.

Refunds for official withdrawals from classes beginning later in the semester than the scheduled date in the academic calendar (e.g., telecourse and second session classes) are as follows: 100% if officially withdrawn before the first day the class meets; 75% of the tuition only amount if officially withdrawn prior to or on the 10% point of class. Student fees are not refundable. Questions about the College tuition refund policy should be directed to the Vice President for Student Services. Requests for refunds will not be considered after the 10% point.

If a class is canceled, the student will receive a 100% refund.

Refunds will be made to the payee’s card if paid by debit or credit. If paid by cash, check or financial aid, refunds will be processed by a check from Blue Ridge Community College and mailed to the student at the current address on file in the Registrar’s Office.

Federal regulations require a refund calculation for all students receiving Title IV funds who officially withdraw from the semester on or before the 60% point in the semester. Students earn a portion of the Title IV funds on a ratio of the number of calendar days attended and the number of calendar days in the term. Unearned federal aid will be returned in the following order: Federal Direct Loan, Federal \PLUS Loan, Pell Grant, and SEOG. NC monies will be returned according to state regulations. Institutional and outside scholarships will be fully applied to the student’s account, unless otherwise restricted.

If there is a student account balance resulting from these adjustments, the student is responsible for payment.

Tuition Refund Policy—Continuing Education Students

The College may refund continuing education registration fees under the following circumstances:

If a student officially withdraws from the class prior to the first class session, the student will receive a 100% refund.

If a class is canceled due to insufficient enrollment, the student will receive a 100% refund.

After a class begins and a student officially withdraws from the class prior to or on the 10% point of the scheduled hours, the student will receive a 75% refund of the registration fee (no additional fees).

This refund is limited to the fees paid and does not include textbooks or supplies.

Students should request a refund in writing, by email, or complete a Course Withdrawal Form. Course Withdrawal forms must be received by the Continuing Education Office on or prior to the deadlines listed above before a refund can be initiated. Forms are available at the Continuing Education Office or on the College website.